Our Curriculum


The Core Knowledge Preschool Sequence is based on the premise that there is a grade-by-grade core of common learning that is necessary to ensure a sound and comprehensive early childhood, pre-K and elementary education. There are nine domains of information covered on a weekly basis:

  1. Autonomy and social skills
  2. Work habits
  3. Language
  4. Mathematics
  5. Orientation in time and space
  6. Visual arts
  7. Science
  8. Music
  9. Movement and coordination


The Core Knowledge curriculum guides the planning of experiences and activities for preschool children by offering a coherent progression of skills in all the areas above. Play and learning go hand-in-hand at The Lawton-Taylor Academy.